Newcomer Health Matters

ProfileI came to Canada with my family in 1996 with big dreams and aspirations. Four years after we arrived in Canada, my brother committed suicide and shortly afterwards my sister was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder. It took me and my family 15 years to overcome grief and start talking about this openly. In 2012 I finally understood that silence makes things much worse for those struggling with mental health, and it affects their families similarly. This is when I created a blog site called Side by Side, initially as a personal blog to share my feeling and thoughts. In less than six months my blog had more than 3000 followers. I found each post received dozens of comments and active discussion. This is when I realized that I was not alone and that my simple blog had the possibility of serving as a much needed platform for support…

View original post 1,556 more words

